Elton High

School Policies » Attendance

Attendance

ATTENDANCE

One of the most important factors in a child’s successful education is daily attendance in school; therefore, the State Department of Education and the Jefferson Davis Parish School Board wish to inform students and parents of the Compulsory Attendance Law of the State of Louisiana.
 

Age of Compulsory Attendance; Duty of Parents 
 
Every parent, tutor, or other person residing within the State of Louisiana, having control or charge of any child between the ages of seven (7) and eighteen (18) both inclusive from the seventh to the eighteenth birthday, shall send such child to a public or private day school provided that any child below the age of seven who legally enrolls in school shall also be subject to the provision of this law. Every parent, tutor, or other person responsible for sending a child to a public or private day school under provision of this law shall also assure the attendance of such child in regularly assigned classes during regular school hours established by the school board. A student 16 years of age may attend an alternative program dictated by House Bill 21. A student 18 years old may withdraw from school prior to graduation with the written consent of his parent, tutor, or legal guardian.
 

Attendance Requirement for Elementary Grades (1-8)

Elementary children (1-8) missing more than 16 days per year may not be given credit for the year’s work. Exceptions can be made only in the event of extended personal illness as verified by a physician and/or other extenuating circumstances as approved by the Parish Supervisor of Child Welfare and Attendance, in consultation with principal.
 

Attendance Requirements for Secondary Grades (9-12)
 

Secondary students (9-12) missing more than 8 days in a semester may not be given credit for the courses taken. Exceptions can be made only in the event of extended personal illness, verified by a physician, and/or other extenuating circumstances approved by the Parish Supervisor of Child Welfare and Attendance, in consultation with the principal.


Definition of Attendance

“A student is considered to be in attendance when he or she (1) is physically present at a school site or is participating in an authorized school activity and (2) is under the supervision of authorized personnel.”

This definition for attendance would extend to students are who are homebound, assigned to and participating in drug rehabilitation programs that contain a state-approved education component, or participate in school-authorized field trips.

Half-day attendance
A student is considered to be in attendance for one-half day when he or she (1) is physically present at a school site or is participating in an authorized school activity and (2) is under the supervision of authorized personnel for more than 25% but not more than half (26%-50%) of the student’s instructional day.

Whole-day attendance
A student is considered to be in attendance for a whole day when he or she (1) is physically present at a school site or is participating in an authorized school activity and (2) is under the supervision of authorized personnel for more than 50% (51%-100%) of the student’s instructional day.

All absences whether excused or unexcused shall be counted as an absence for attendance reporting purposes to the State Department. Students who are (1) physically present at a school site or participating in an authorized school activity and (2) are under the supervision of authorized personnel for 25% or less of the school day shall be deemed absent for attendance reporting purposes.

Students will receive an unexcused absence to work on any job, including agriculture and domestic services, even at their own home or for someone else.


Tardiness, Truancy and Class Cuts
Any student who does not get to school or to class on time is considered tardy. Students who are truant from school are liable to suspension from school. Any student who cuts class must present a valid excuse from the office in order to be readmitted to class. Students with five unexcused tardies may be suspended for one day. Students who accumulate additional sets of (5) unexcused tardies shall be suspended for (2) days for each set of (5) accumulated unexcused tardies.

Absences and Excuses
Each student is allowed eight absences during each school semester. He/she must, however, present a signed excuse from home for each absence. Prior to reaching his/her 8th day of absence, the student’s parents will receive a letter to make them aware of his/her number of absences. A student will have three days upon return to school to present a valid excuse for the absence. After three (3) days, the absence will be unexcused. The student will have three days to present a written doctor’s excuse.